Challenges

“To strive, to seek, to find, and not to yield” (Alfred Lord Tennyson)

I’ve heard this quote in a movie I recently watched and I kept thinking about it since. Every human on earth is unique in his way, but the fundamentals we learn from parents, living in our society etc. are making us more similar. We start our lives, fitting in the community which surrounds us and try to find our place in it. For some it is what they are looking/hoping for because it provides stability and security. But for me, I still have to look for what I really want in MY live.

And thats what I think is the biggest challenge. But to go this path, it takes first a lot of courage, guts and time.

During my travels I have already met many people who are on the same road  as I am. (We) are a small group of backpackers within the huge community of people travelling. I totally understand people coming over the NZL to travel/work for a year but they have still another reason why they are here and why I am.
It’s always great to talk to those “life searchers”, how the time already changed their way of living, thinking etc. What they already achieved or still looking for. When they had a “breakthrough” or a special moment which they will remember their whole life.

To be in the process of creating myself, I always set new challenges. Small, daily challenges, active challenges, money challenges and more. Thinking back to the time when I was studying and working, I didn’t had much of those. Sure, you have to look for your money to pay your rent, save money for holiday and goals like reducing weight and educational challenges like exams. But those are repeat every time and after a while  you have your routine and pattern for each challenge. You find yourself more and more in a comfort zone, where you know how to react. And that’s when you stop living.

DSC_0077

Since I went for my trip, I got out of the regularity, break out of my “comfort zone” and looking back what I achieved so far, how I developed my personality makes me 100% sure that made the right decision. I started improving so many parts of myself I haven’t done before but still… I still feel not done yet. At times ,I find myself in situation where I am to doubtful or kind of unconfident and I know that sounds sometimes weird to people who get to know me.

Setting myself new, tougher and maybe a bit risky challenges are helping me being more confident, finding the courage I need in certain situation. And far more, it helps creating the person I want to be.

In the end, it’s not the years in your life that count. It’s the life in your years. (Abraham Lincoln)

Leave a Reply

