Me right now and in the future 

I am back on the trail with a full pack, 5L of water and 4 days of food. After breaking the habit of living and walking on the trail it was really hard to get back into it. The first miles felt like mile 1 a month ago. It is also not only the body who has get back to that routine, it’s also my mind.

During my zeros at my friends house I had my laptop and as you can imagine I had it open the whole day writing blog posts, editing pictures and videos, checking Facebook updates etc etc….

I loved spending some time with my friends but I needed to get out on the trail again. After walking my first miles I put some classical music on and got back into this feeling of having my mind free and wander around without any thoughts. I know that I have this chance only now during my time on the trail and that’s why I am doing it. Sooner or later most of us will be back in our real life with a job, monthly payments and responsibility but whats important is to never forget the time and the person you were during this special time of your life. 

During my travels trough Australia and New Zealand I met many young people who were at the end of her year away from home and don’t wanted to go bad. They were so used to that state of living, working on farms or in hospitality and spend the money on traveling and beers. 

I know that I am not living to be my whole life like this and I am honestly also looking forward to that time when I settle down and plan a life with somebody else. But right now it’s not time for that and I am enjoying every bit of it. 

I think it’s important to realize that and it’s far more important to not forget what you learned about yourself during this time. If you ever spent time like this, I hope you still remember yourself about that person your were and if not I hope I reminded you about that. If not, I am sure you had your reasons but never think it’s to late to take time off for yourself if you need to. I just met a German guy who worked 20 years in a supermarket is also now hiking the pct. 

There will be never the right time for doing something great. You just have to do it!

2 thoughts on “Me right now and in the future 

  1. So very true. I try and remember to never take life on the trail for granted, even during the rougher days. Soon enough I’ll be back to the hustle and bustle of everyday life and will be missing the trail’s simplicity. I hope I can carry that over to real life, like slowing down, staying present.

    Also, you must’ve met Torsten aka Heartbreaker 😉 I hiked with him the first two weeks and haven’t seen him since, glad to know he’s still out there! And glad you’re back! I’m sure you’ll adjust quickly back to trail life 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

